Update To Open Process For 2014 Boston Marathon

Contact Info:
Marc Davis (Communications Manager)
Boston Athletic Association
185 Dartmouth Street, 6th Floor
Boston MA 02116
05 DEC 2013

The Boston Athletic Association, organizer of the Boston Marathon®, has issued a limited number of invitational entries for the 2014 Boston Marathon for those who were deeply impacted by the events of April 15, 2013.  The B.A.A. thanks all who submitted a request to participate in the 2014 Boston Marathon.

Notifications have been sent both to those who have been accepted and to those who were not accepted.

Due to the large number of submissions received, not all who submitted a request were able to be granted access to run in next year's race. Many who submitted a request provided thoughtful and compelling accounts of their experiences last April. A committee from the B.A.A. needed to make many difficult decisions during its review.

The B.A.A. understands how deeply people feel about their reactions to what happened last April, and it appreciates the requests and show of support and strength that has been displayed by so many following last Spring's Boston Marathon. That strength is something that we will continue to honor in the months ahead.
Our process in no way ignores or diminishes the very real and significant impact suffered by so many.

Those who accept the invitational entry into the 2014 Boston Marathon must abide by the following criteria:

  • The invitational entry is valid only for the 2014 Boston Marathon
  • The invitational entry must be used by the individual who submitted the request, and the entry may not be transferred to another person, another year, or another B.A.A. event
  • The invitational entry fee is required.

The Boston Athletic Association

B.A.A. Moment 3

1966 - Bobbi Gibb

Although not an official entrant, Roberta “Bobbi” Gibb became the first woman to run the Boston Marathon. Joining the starting field shortly after the gun had been fired, Gibb finished the race in 3:21:40 to place 126th overall. Gibb again claimed the “unofficial” title in 1967 and 1968.