Boston Marathon Push Rim Wheelchair Division Field Announced

Contact Info:
Marc Davis (Communications Manager)
Boston Athletic Association
185 Dartmouth Street, 6th Floor
Boston MA 02116
04 FEB 2013
Defending Champions Joshua Cassidy (World’s Fastest) and Shirley Reilly Among Top Athletes to Compete for $60,000 Prize Purse

BOSTON – The Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.) today announced one of the fastest push rim wheelchair division fields in the world for the 117th Boston Marathon on April 15, 2013. The field includes the men’s and women’s defending champions, along with past champions of the Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago, and New York City marathons, as well as four of the six medalists at the 2012 London Paralympic Games marathon. For the 28th consecutive year, principal sponsor John Hancock Financial will provide the prize purse for the race.

Highlighting the men’s field is defending champion Joshua Cassidy (CAN), who set a world best time of 1:18:25 in Boston in 2012. Challenging Cassidy will be nine-time Boston Marathon winner Ernst Van Dyk (RSA), two-time Boston Marathon champion Masazumi Soejima (JPN), and four-time New York City Marathon champion Kurt Fearnley (AUS). Also expected to be among the top contenders is Heinz Frei (SUI), a two-time Boston champion and a three-time London champion.

The women’s field will be led by defending champion Shirley Reilly (USA), who also won the Los Angeles and London Paralympic Games marathons in 2012. Reilly will once again compete against Boston veteran Wakako Tsuchida (JPN), who claimed five consecutive Boston victories (2007-2011) and set a world best time of 1:34:06 in Boston in 2011. Also highlighting the field will be two-time Chicago Marathon champion Tatyana McFadden (USA) and Diane Roy (CAN), a five-time Boston Marathon runner-up who placed third in Boston in 2012.

This year, the Boston Marathon will mark the beginning of a new two-race competition, along with the London Marathon six days later, called the Boston-London Wheelchair Challenge. The contest will be scored based on finishing place at both events and men and women will be scored separately. At both events, athletes will earn points based on their finishing place. At the conclusion of the series, the male and female athlete with the highest cumulative point total will be awarded $10,000. Prize money for the Boston and London marathons will remain intact.

At the 2012 Boston Marathon, Cassidy led from the third mile and went on to set a world best time of 1:18:25, breaking Van Dyk’s mark set in Boston in 2004. Fearnley finished second in 1:21:39 and Kota Hokinoue (JPN) placed third in 1:23:26. The women’s race was closely contested between Reilly and Tsuchida, with Reilly ultimately winning by one second, 1:37:36 to 1:37:37. Roy rounded out the top three in 1:42:37.

The Boston Marathon became the first major marathon to include a wheelchair division in 1975 when Bob Hall (MA) became the first officially recognized participant to use a wheelchair. Through the continued support of principal sponsor John Hancock Financial, the Boston Marathon has offered prize money for its open and wheelchair division competitors since 1986.

Boston Marathon Push Rim Wheelchair Division: 2013 Men’s Field*

Nathan Arkley (AUS) 18 Bronze medalist in 4x400-meter relay at London Paralympic Games
Joshua Cassidy (CAN) 28 Winner of London (2010) and Boston (2012) marathons
Jean Paul Compaore (CAN) 41 Placed eighth in Boston Marathon (2012)
Kurt Fearnley (AUS) 32 Champion at NYC (2006-2009) and London (2009) marathons
Heinz Frei (SUI) 55 Winner at London (1996, 1998-1999) and Boston (1994, 1996) marathons
Joshua George (USA) 29 Three-time Chicago Marathon champion (2003-2004, 2006)
Tomasz Hamerlak (POL) 37 Finished third (2011) and sixth (2012) at the London Marathon
Kota Hokinoue (JPN) 39 Finished third at the Boston Marathon (2010, 2012)
Marcel Hug (SUI) 27 Two-time Berlin Marathon champion (2011, 2012)
Jordi Jimenez (ESP) 33 Placed 10th in the London Marathon (2011)
Rafael Botello Jimenez (ESP) 34 Holds multiple Spanish records from 800 meters to the marathon
Denis Lemeunier (FRA) 48 London Marathon champion (2001)
Aaron Pike (USA) 26 Placed 10th in the Boston Marathon (2009)
Krige Schabort (USA) 49 Two-time LA Marathon winner (2011-2012); Eight-time Boston runner-up
Masazumi Soejima (JPN) 42 Two-time Boston Marathon champion (2007, 2011)
Ernst Van Dyk (RSA) 40 Nine-time Boston Marathon champion (2001-2006, 2008-2010)
Roger Puigbo Verdaguer (ESP) 35 Has placed third in Boston (2009) and fourth in London (2011)
Hiroyuki Yamamoto (JPN) 46 Placed eighth at the London Marathon (2012)
Choke Yasuoka (JPN) 40 Has placed fifth (2007) and eighth (2011) in the London Marathon

Boston Marathon Push Rim Wheelchair Division: 2013 Women’s Field*

Christie Dawes (AUS) 32 Runner-up in Chicago and placed fourth in NYC marathon in 2011
Sandra Graf (SUI) 43 Winner of London (2008) and Berlin (2012) marathons
Tatyana McFadden (USA) 23 Winner of NYC (2010) and Chicago (2011, 2012) marathons.
Amanda McGrory (USA) 26 Won the Oita International, Paris, London, and NYC marathons in 2011
Shirley Reilly (USA) 27 Won the LA, Boston, and London Paralympic marathons in 2012
Diane Roy (CAN) 42 Five-time Boston Marathon runner-up (2005-2006, 2008-2010)
Susannah Scaroni (USA) 21 Placed fifth at the Boston Marathon (2012)
Wakako Tsuchida (JPN) 38 Won five consecutive Boston Marathons (2007-2011)

* Partial list of top competitors in the 2013 Boston Marathon (as of February 4, 2013).

Push Rim Wheelchair Division Prize Structure

1 $15,000 $15,000
2 $6,500 $6,500
3 $2,500 $2,500
4 $1,500 $1,500
5 $1,000 $1,000
6 $900 $900
7 $800 $800
8 $700 $700
9 $600 $600
10 $500 $500
TOTAL $30,000 $30,000

For more information on the Push Rim Wheelchair Division, click here

B.A.A. Moment 1

1920 - Ashland Start

The Boston Marathon began in Ashland, Massachusetts from 1897 through 1923 then moved to Hopkinton for the 1924 race. The course was lengthened to 26 miles, 385 yards to conform to the Olympic standard, and the starting line was moved west from Ashland to Hopkinton. Since then, the race has started in Hopkinton every year.