Bringing the Heat: Heilmann Defends and Cappello Cruises to Victory at the Sugar Bowl 5 Mile

21 JUL 2011
Bringing the Heat: Heilmann Defends and Cappello Cruises to Victory at the Sugar Bowl 5 Mile
The heat was hovering in the low 90s, the sun was still shining brightly and the humidity was oppressive, but Andreas Heilmann and Heather Cappello seemed not to notice as they ran to victory in the 2011 Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5 Mile in South Boston on Thursday, July 21st. Heilmann, the defending champion, went out in 5:22 for the first mile and was sharing the lead with teammate Roger Donaghy. The two stayed together through about 3 miles and then they turned into a strong headwind. Heilmann went to the front to take his turn leading and never looked back. His time of 27:22 was 15 seconds ahead of second place and not that far off of his 2010 time, which was run on a much cooler day.

Cappello went to the front early before settling into pace. She ran unchallenged and her 28:38 is among the fastest times ever posted at the Sugar Bowl; It is even more impressive considering the conditions. Amanda Walsh ran a strong race to place second overall.

A number of B.A.A. Running Club members left South Boston with new hardware. Winning their respective age groups were Lou Raffetto (25-29), Antony Keller (20-24), Amanda Walsh (25-29), and Cat LaRiviere (20-24). John Barrett was second in the 40-44 category and Donaghy and Chris Benestad were second and third in the 30-34 group.

The Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5 Mile has been a part of the B.A.A. summer racing calendar for a over a decade and provides members with a quality racing experience in the Greater Boston area. The next race on the club calendar is the Carver Cranberry Road Race (5 miles) on Saturday, July 30th in Carver, MA.

1. Andreas Heilmann 27:22
3. Roger Donaghy 27:53
5. Heather Cappello 28:37 (1st Female)
6. Antony Keller 28:47
8. Lou Raffetto 29:08
10. Chris Benestad 29:16
27. John Barrett 33:37
31. Amanda Walsh 33:49 (2nd Female)
52. Cat LaRiviere 36:01 (6th Female)
54. Ann Morrissey 36:08 (8th Female)
64. Chris George 36:43
75. Jim Thompson 37:34

Visit the Event Website for complete results.

B.A.A. Moment 2

1935 John A. Kelley

Born in West Medford, Massachusetts as one of ten children, Kelley ran track and cross-country at Arlington High School in Massachusetts. He did not finish his first Boston Marathon in 1928, but eventually competed in a record 61 Boston Marathons. A legend of the marathon, Kelley won the 1935 and 1945 runnings of the Boston Marathon. He finished in second place at Boston a record seven times. Between 1934 to 1950, he finished in the top five 15 times at Boston, consistently running in the 2:30s. He ran his last full marathon at Boston in 1992 at the age of 84, his 61st start and 58th finish there.