Brett Ely Takes Second at the USTAF New England 5k Championship

05 JUN 2011
Brett Ely Takes Second at the USTAF New England 5k Championship
Members of the B.A.A. Running Club were in Lincoln, RI on Sunday, June 5, 2011 to compete in the USATF New England 5k Championships, hosted by the Rhody 5k. Brett Ely was the top performer, taking runner-up honors in the women’s race. Her time of 17:23 was particularly notable as Ely is in the final weeks of training for Grandma’s Marathon. Also having a solid race was Carly Shea, who broke into the top ten with her 6th place finish.

The men’s open team had a competitive race on their hands with a mere 11 seconds separating first from third. Led by Matt Ely in 6th place, the team took home the bronze. Harry Carter added another New England Age Group title to his resume, winning the 70+ division.

The next USATF New England Grand Prix race is the Stowe 8 Mile in Stowe, VT on Sunday, July 17, 2011.


2. Brett Ely 17:23
8. Carly Shea 18:10
20. Lisa Kaplan 19:23

6. Matthew Ely 15:04
16. Will Dobbie 15:34
21. Patrick Moulton 15:42
22. Ben Schmeckpeper 15:44
29. Chris Magill 15:51
30, Hari Iyer 15:52
40. Wayne Levy 16:07
87. Andy MacDonald 17:31
111. David Consigli 18:36
152. John Stuart 20:29
226. Harry Carter 23:49

1. CMS= 1:17:44
2. Team RUN = 1:17:50
3. Boston Athletic Association = 1:17:55
Matthew Ely 15:04, Will Dobbie 15:34, Patrick Moulton 15:42, Ben Schmeckpeper 15:44, Chris Magill 15:51, (Hari Iyer 15:52), (Wayne Levy 16:07)

Click here for the Rhody 5k results.

Click here for USATF New England Grand Prix Results and Standings.

B.A.A. Moment 4

1972 - Women Official Entrants in Marathon

Although Bobbi Gibb was the first woman to complete the Boston Marathon in 1966, it was not until the 1972 Boston Marathon that women could become official entrants due to a change in AAU rules. Pictured (left to right) above are seven of the eight women who participanted in the first official women's field of the Boston Marathon - Nina Kusciak, Katherine Switzer, Elaine Pederson, Ginny Collins, Pat Barrett, Frances Morrison, Sara Mae Berman (not pictured - Valerie Rogosheske).