Men's Harriers Place Seventh at USATF National Club Cross Country Championship

09 DEC 2012
Men's Harriers Place Seventh at USATF National Club Cross Country Championship
For the fourth consecutive year, the B.A.A. men's harriers recorded a top ten finish at the USATF Club National Cross Country Championship held at Masterson Park on Saturday, December 8, 2012 in Lexington, KY - the same location where the streak began in 2009. Eric Ashe led a tight pack with just 27 seconds and 17 places separating the top four B.A.A. athletes. Ashe finished in 22nd place in the 300+ person field, followed by Tim Ritchie in 26th and newcomer Sam Alexander, a 2012 graduate of Central Connecticut State University, in 31st place overall. Also cracking the top forty was Brian Harvey in 39th. The team had a solid performance taking seventh place in the competitive field.

In the women's race, Brielle Chabot had a terrific performance, placing twentieth overall, in her first appearance at this event. Over the course of the fall, Chabot has raced at a variety of distances highlighted by wins at the Cape Cod Half Marathon in October and at the USATF New England 5k Championship in September.

Since its inception in 1998, the USATF National Club Cross Country Championship has grown in size and stature. For the past 15 years, the top clubs in the country have competed for the national title and team bragging rights. The 2012 race featured more than 100 teams and 1,200 competitors. MEN'S OPEN RESULTS
22 . Eric Ashe 31:00
26 . Timothy Ritchie 31:11
31 . Samuel Alexander 31:18
39. Brian Harvey 31:26
85 . Colman Hatton 32:20
90 . Ryan McCalmon 32:26
109 . Dan Harper 32:39
146 . Alexander Taylor 33:13

20. Brielle Chabot 21:05
53. Melissa Nash 21:46
B.A.A. Moment 1

1920 - Ashland Start

The Boston Marathon began in Ashland, Massachusetts from 1897 through 1923 then moved to Hopkinton for the 1924 race. The course was lengthened to 26 miles, 385 yards to conform to the Olympic standard, and the starting line was moved west from Ashland to Hopkinton. Since then, the race has started in Hopkinton every year.