B.A.A. Athletes Compete at U.S. Olympic Team Trials Men's & Women's Marathons

14 JAN 2012
B.A.A. Athletes Compete at U.S. Olympic Team Trials Men's & Women's Marathons
On Saturday, January 14, 2012, six B.A.A. athletes took part in two of the fastest races in Olympic Marathon Trials history. The top three finishers in each race will represent the United States at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, England this summer. In the women's race, Shalane Flanagan set an Olympic Trials record of 2:25:38 in only her second marathon,and led a Trials record five women to finishing times under 2:30. The men's race saw Meb Keflezighi selected to his third Olympic team when he won the Trials in a personal best time of 2:09:08 and led four men under 2:10 for the first time in Trials history.

Much like the 2008 course in Boston, the Houston course began with a 2.2-mile loop through the heart of downtown, after which the athletes ran three 8-mile loops on a spectator-friendly, flat course. The layout was expected to yield fast times and did not disappoint. The Houston course was designed to mimick the course for the Olympic Games, which is a similar three-loop layout.

In total, 158 men and 223 women achieved qualifying times allowing them to compete in the Trials. Of those, the B.A.A. had six athletes qualify: Lucas Meyer, Jeannette Faber, Kasie Enman, Heather Cappello, Diana Bowser, and Brett Ely all represented the club in these historic Olympic Trials Marathons.

U.S. Olympic Team Trials Men's & Women's Marathon Results:

1. Meb Keflezighi 2:09:08
2. Ryan Hall 2:09:30
3. Abdi Abdirahman 2:09:47
4. Dathan Ritzenhein 2:09:55
54. Lucas Meyer 2:20:21

1. Shalane Flanagan 2:25:38
2. Desiree Davila 2:25:55
3. Kara Goucher 2:26:06
4. Amy Hastings 2:27:17
5. Janet Cherobon-Bawcom 2:29:45
21. Jeannette Faber 2:36:50
53. Kasie Enman 2:41:25
54. Heather Cappello 2:42:07
DNF- Brett Ely, Diana Bowser

For results and information about the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials Men's & Women's Marathon, visit the USATF website.

B.A.A. Moment 2

1996 - Centennial Boston Marathon

The starting field of 38,708 for the centennial race stood for more than seven years as the largest in the history of the sport. Included among the finishers were 16 Boston champions. The historic 100th Boston Marathon was monumental for another reason. It was the first time that a chip timing and scoring device was used in a major US Marathon.