It Was a Good Night for the B.A.A. at the 2012 Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5k

20 JUL 2012
It Was a Good Night for the B.A.A. at the 2012 Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5k
Temperatures were in the high 70s with a cool ocean breeze as runners took off to the sounds of the Black-Eyed Peas proclaiming that tonight would be a good night. And, after a week of training in the heat and humidity, the B.A.A. athletes took advantage of the ideal conditions and, when the final results were posted, it had been a good night for the club.

Andreas Heilman notched his third win at the event. With the race being contested over 5k this year instead of the usual five miles, he also has the distinction of being the new course record holder. Luke Dodge took the early lead, but was eventually caught by Heilman and finished third overall. Also placing in the top ten was Matt Herman who took sixth overall.

In the women's race, Lindsay Willard finished in the runner-up spot with a sub-18 minute performance and just twelve seconds behind the leader. Kristin Murphy who has recently resumed racing after the birth of her daughter this past winter, placed third overall.

It was also a good night for the B.A.A. in the age group divisions with many club members taking home some hardware. Age group winners included Kirstin Rudd (20-24), Amanda Walsh (25-29), and Willard (30-34). For the men, there were seven Unicorn on top of the podium: Luke Dodge (20-24), Ben Schersten (30-34), Matthew Herman (35-39), David Consigli (45-49), Patrick Stumbras (55-59), Dennis Herman (65-69), and Bill Riley.

Others placing in their age group were Samantha Noonan, (3rd,25-29), Stephen Steinbergher (runner-up, 30-34), Brian Murphy and Michael McGrane (2nd & 3rd, 40-44), and Bernie O'Reilly (runner-up, 45-49).

The next race for the club will be the Carver 5 Mile in Carver, MA on Saturday, July 28th. The race is the fifth in the 2012 USATF New England Grand Prix Series.

Click here for complete results.

B.A.A. Moment 2

1935 John A. Kelley

Born in West Medford, Massachusetts as one of ten children, Kelley ran track and cross-country at Arlington High School in Massachusetts. He did not finish his first Boston Marathon in 1928, but eventually competed in a record 61 Boston Marathons. A legend of the marathon, Kelley won the 1935 and 1945 runnings of the Boston Marathon. He finished in second place at Boston a record seven times. Between 1934 to 1950, he finished in the top five 15 times at Boston, consistently running in the 2:30s. He ran his last full marathon at Boston in 1992 at the age of 84, his 61st start and 58th finish there.