New Location, Familiar Result: Men's Harriers Crowned 2012 USATF-New England Cross Country Champions

18 NOV 2012
New Location, Familiar Result: Men's Harriers Crowned 2012 USATF-New England Cross Country Champions
For he first time since the early '90s, the USATF-New England Cross Country Championship was contested somewhere other than Franklin Park. Due to construction on the Playstead, the meet was relocated to Stanley Park in Westfield, MA on Sunday, November 18, 2012.

In spite of the new surroundings, some things remained the same; at the end of the day, it was the B.A.A. men standing atop the podium. The win marked the seventh consecutive victory for the men's team. In all, the men have won nine of the last ten titles and the women have won nine of the last fourteen championships.

The men started out at a controlled pace, with the lead pack dominated by yellow singlets. Shortly after 5k, eventual winner and 2012 Olympian Ruben Sanca, picked up the pace and began to string out the field. The B.A.A.'s Brian Harvey, Samuel Alexander, Eric Ashe and Dan Harper covered the move, staying with Sanca for a while longer before he eventually broke away. A late surge from Harvey brought him close to catching Sanca at the line. Harvey took the runner-up spot, just two seconds back, followed by three of his teammates as Alexander, Ashe, and Harper took places 3, 4, and 5. Ryan McCalmon, who steadily progressed through the field during the race, finished in 9th place to cap of the team scoring.

In the women's race, Brielle Chabot stayed with the lead pack throughout the race, trailed by teammate Melissa Nash. The duo finished sixth and eleventh respectively. Caroline Bjune who was third in the inaugural B.A.A. Distance Medley, was the third B.A.A. woman across the line. She was followed by Kristin Murphy and 2012 Hartford Marathon Champion Hilary Dionne.

Next up on the schedule, the B.A.A. will compete at the USATF National Club Cross Country Championships on December 9, 2012 in Lexington, KY. The race will feature the top clubs from across the United States as they vie for honors and bragging rights as the nation's top cross country team. More than 40 clubs and 1,000 competitors are expected to compete.

39. Michael McGrane 29:54
40. Kevin Grant 29:59
46. Andrew Gordon 30:41
52. Dave Menard 32:19
76. Joe Hall 36:11

1. Greater Springfield Harriers 35
2. Dirigo R.C. 60
3. Central Mass Striders 69
4. Greater Boston Track Club 102
5. Green Mountain Athletic A 113
6. Greater Lowell Road Runner 141
7. HFC Striders 186
8 Boston Athletic Association 204

2. Brian Harvey 24:07
3. Samuel Alexander 24:11
4. Eric Ashe 24:18
5. Dan Harper 24:32
9. Ryan McCalmon 24:51
10. Colman Hatton 24:56
12. Alexander Taylor 25:00
13. Peter Gilmore 25:04
22. David Chorney 25:33
24. Jonathan Baker 25:34
29. Eric Blake 25:38
33. Peter Najem 25:46
95. Ross Tucker 29:34

1. Boston Athletic Association 23
2. Western Mass Distance Project 65
3. Greater Boston Track Club 88

6. Brielle Chabot 20:41
11. Melissa Nash 21:10
17. Caroline Bjune 21:39
22. Kristin Murphy 21:47
25. Hilary Dionne 22:09
27. Ravenna Neville 22:19
28. Liz Hankinson 22:32
34. Carly Shea 23:03
38. Sarah Bard 23:23


1. Central Park Track Club 39
2. New Balance Boston 50
3. Greater Boston Track Club 61
4. Boston Athletic Association 77

Results are available here.
B.A.A. Moment

New Location, Familiar Result: Men's Harriers Crowned 2012 USATF-New England Cross Country Champions

Photo Credit: