Men's Open Team Defends & Men's Master's Team Takes Top Honors at the 2013 New England Cross Country Championship

10 NOV 2013
Men's Open Team Defends & Men's Master's Team Takes Top Honors at the 2013 New England Cross Country Championship
The New England Cross Country Championships returned to Franklin Park on Sunday, November 10, 2013 and the B.A.A. Men's Open Team returned to the top of the podium stretching their winning streak to eight consecutive victories and their tenth title in the last eleven championships. And it wasn't just the team winning the title that had history repeating itself: four of the five scorers from the 2012 championship team contributed to the 2013 victory. Leading the way for the B.A.A. was Eric Ashe who won the race outright. He was part of a tight pack that included Sam Alexander, Dan Harper, Brian Harvey and Colman Hatton, before taking the lead over the last few kilometers. All five scorers finished in the top ten, sealing the victory for the club.

The men's open team had company in the winner's circle where they were joined by the men's master's team. As in the open race, the B.A.A. had a tight pack up front. Peter Hammer, the 2011 USATF New England Cross Country Master's Champion, was second overall and first for the club. Chris Magill finished with Hammer in third place and the duo was followed by Harry Stants just two places and eight seconds back. Keven O'Neil was tenth and Wayne Levy was thirteenth, securing the finish at the top of the podium.

In the women's race, Kasie Enman demonstrated her strength once again as she worked her way through the women's field to finish sixth overall. Melissa Nash repeated her performance from 2012, placing eleventh for the second consecutive year. In the Master's competition, the women also boasted a championship with Diana Bowser taking the individual title while also contributing the runner-up finish for the women's open team.

Next up on the schedule, the B.A.A. will compete at the USATF National Club Cross Country Championships on December 14, 2013 in Bend, OR. The race will feature the top clubs from across the United States as they vie for honors and bragging rights as the nation's top cross country team. More than 40 clubs and 1,000 competitors are expected to compete.

Men's Open Results
1. Eric Ashe 30:50
2. Samuel Alexander 30:57
3. Dan Harper 30:58
4. Brian Harvey 31:01
10. Colman Hatton 31:25
18. Justin Lutz 32:01
23. Ryan McCalmon 32:15
29. David Chorney 32:39
42. Brad Mish 33:06
46. Terry Shea 33:29
52. Sean Hyland 33:37
53. Jonathan Baker 33:49
55. David Moyer 33:54
78. Dave Brooks 35:2

Men's Open Team Results
1. Boston Athletic Association = 18
2. New Balance Boston = 56
3. Western Mass Distance Project = 72

Men's Master's Results
2. Pete Hammer 26:46
3. Chris Magill 26:46
5. Harry Stants 26:54
10. Keven O'Neil 27:25
13. Wayne Levy 27:36
17. Christopher Lawrence 28:12
19. Patrick Callahan 28:14
37. Robert Collins 29:41
69. Dave Menard 32:43
86. Joe Hall 36:15

Men's Master's Team Results
1. Boston Athletic Association = 29
2. Green Mountain Athletic Association = 92
3. Greater Boston Track Club 110

Women's Results
6. Kasie Enman 21:32
11. Melissa Nash 21:55
25. Lesley Hocking 22:44
28. Ravenna Neville 22:51
31. Diana Bowser 22:58
35. Caroline Bjune 23:25
36. Mimi Fallon 23:26

Women's Open Team Results
1. New Balance Boston = 17
2. Boston Athletic Association = 62
3. Greater Boston Track Club = 70

Click here for complete results.
B.A.A. Moment

Men's Open Team Defends & Men's Master's Team Takes Top Honors at the 2013 New England Cross Country Championship

Photo Credit: