B.A.A. Running Club Team bring the heat to the 27th Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5K

23 JUL 2014
B.A.A. Running Club Team bring the heat to the 27th Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5K

B.A.A. Running Club was well represented at the summer classic Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5K on Thursday, July 17th. With temperatures in the low 70’s and a break in the humidity, the B.A.A. club team heated up the roads with a pair of first place finishes and winning several age group awards. Andreas Heilmann was the man to beat as the returning champion and winner of the last four Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5Ks, but a “fifth-peat” was not in the cards for Andreas this summer. Brad Mish took the early lead and pushed a steady 5-minute mile pace to win the race in 15:29, a new course record. The B.A.A. men shined with four of the five top spots going to the Unicorns with Craig McMahon finishing runner-up to Brad in 16:05 (1st Age Group 20-24), followed by Andreas in 16:29 for 3rd place (1st Age Group 25-29), and Ian Nurse in 16:42 good for fifth overall (1st Age Group 30-34).

Amanda Allen returned to the Jim Kane 5K this year with a win on her mind after a runner up finish in 2013 with a time of 18:27. Amanda stayed two steps ahead of with the youngster Siobhan Flaherty through the half way turnaround point before dropping her on the return trip crossing the finish line in 18:18 for 1st female and adding to her win column for the year. Kristin Murphy (1st Age Group 30-34) held off B.A.A. teammate Amanda Walsh for third place by just one second in 18:56 to Amanda’s 18:57, both finishing in the top five. Catherine LaRiviere also performed well winning the 25-29 Age Group in a time of 19:32.

For results from the Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5K, click the button below:

See Full Results - click here

Our summer club races will wrap up this week with the Marathon Sports 5 Miler on Thursday, July 24th as we transition into the fall season with the final Grand Prix races and the BAA Half Marathon in October. Enjoy the rest of summer!

GMAA Labor Day 15K, USATF-NE Grand Prix Race #5, South Burlington, VT – August 31st Lone Gull 10K, USATF-NE Grand Prix Race #6, Gloucester, MA – September 14th
Club members who want to run either or both races can register by emailing Michael McGrane at mmcgrane@baa.org.

B.A.A. Moment 1

1920 - Ashland Start

The Boston Marathon began in Ashland, Massachusetts from 1897 through 1923 then moved to Hopkinton for the 1924 race. The course was lengthened to 26 miles, 385 yards to conform to the Olympic standard, and the starting line was moved west from Ashland to Hopkinton. Since then, the race has started in Hopkinton every year.