Brian Harvey Leads the B.A.A. Men’s Team to a Narrow Victory in the New England Grand Prix RibFest 5 Miler

15 JUN 2014
Brian Harvey Leads the B.A.A. Men’s Team to a Narrow Victory in the New England Grand Prix RibFest 5 Miler

In his first race since the Boston Marathon, Brian Harvey shook off the marathon dust and led the men’s team with a runner-up place in 24:19, seven seconds behind Team Run’s Jeffrey Vega. The margin of seven was also the difference in the team scoring with the men edging Team Run by a narrow margin of seven seconds. Eric Ashe trailed in 4th place (24:54), followed by Brad Mish (11th, 25:28), Sean Highland (21st, 25:54) and Nils Schallner (25th, 26:04) to close out the team scoring for the open men. Spring marathon training seems to be a good formula for shorter summer races with all five of the top B.A.A. scorers coming off solid Boston Marathon performances.

The Men’s Masters were led by Chris Magill (26:08, 26th) also with a runner-up position on the podium just five tics behind New England Grand Prix Masters leader, Mike Galoob. Chris led the B.A.A. men’s Masters to a 4th place team finish.

In the women’s race, Caroline Bjune matched Magill’s performance with a second place finish in the Women’s Masters placing 17th overall running 31:42. Although the women did not field a team for the club scoring, they were led by two Top Ten performers, Racher Asher (7th, 29:40) and Amanda Allen (9th, 30:19), followed by Amanda Watters (35th, 33:03).

This was the first year the Ribfest 5 Miler was part of the New England Grand Prix series proving to be a fair course on a decent weekend despite some strong headwinds on the first half of the out-and-back style course. The Ribfest 5 miler wraps up the spring racing season with the next New England Grand Prix race, the GMAA Labor Day 15K in Vermont, coming at the end of summer.

Click here for Ribfest 5 mile results:



Rachel Asher 29:36 123
Amanda Allen 30:15 146
Caroline Bjune 31:38 174
Amanda Watters 33:00 213


Brian Harvey 24:27 2
Eric Ashe 24:54 4
Brad Mish 25:29 11
Sean Hyland 25:53 21
Nils Schallner 26:04 25
Chris Magill 26:08 26
Ian Nurse 26:12 28
Jason Reilly 27:05 51
David Moyer 28:04 70
Wayne Levy 28:28 80
Paul Davies 30:09 144
Christopher Lawrence 30:46 157
Andy MacDonald 32:29 201

B.A.A. Moment 1

1920 - Ashland Start

The Boston Marathon began in Ashland, Massachusetts from 1897 through 1923 then moved to Hopkinton for the 1924 race. The course was lengthened to 26 miles, 385 yards to conform to the Olympic standard, and the starting line was moved west from Ashland to Hopkinton. Since then, the race has started in Hopkinton every year.