Presented By:John Hancock Logo

Boston Marathon History: Race Summaries (1897-Present)

The Boston Marathon Through the Ages

From John A. Kelley in 1928, to Bobbi Gibb in 1966; to the 1918 relay challenge, and the wins of Joan Benoit, and Cosmas Ndeti – the Boston Marathon has hosted a virtually endless list of achievers since 1897. For more about the faces and accomplishments from every Boston Marathon, use the navigation on the left.

B.A.A. Moment 6

1983 - Greg Meyer

in 1983 Greg Meyer won the Boston Marathon, and remains the last American to have won the men's open division. 

Photo Credit: Fay Foto