Presented By:Dana-Farber Cancer InstituteJimmy FundAdidas

Participant Information: Team Competition

Guidelines and Rules for Team Competition in the B.A.A. Half Marathon

  • Each team member must have submitted an official individual B.A.A. Half Marathon application and must have been accepted for participation.
  • Entrants indicate which team they are competing for by selecting one from the supplied list. If the team is not listed, there is a space to type in a team name.
  • In order to field a team, the organization must have current membership to USA Track & Field, or the Road Runners Club of America (RRCA). Individual membership in these organizations is not required.
  • Members must live in the same geographic region in which the club is registered.
  • Entrant must be a bona-fide member of a team to be eligible.
  • In order to have a scoring team, a team must have the following number of official finishers for the following age-divisions: Open Men (age 14 and over) and Masters Men (age 40 and over) – 5 finishers; Veteran Men (age 50 and over) and Senior Men (age 60 and over) – 3 finishers. All women’s age-divisions need 3 official finishers for the above referenced age-divisions.
  • The lowest aggregate time will determine the finish order for each age-division.
  • Net time will be used for scoring purposes.
  • Ties between two or more teams are resolved by determining which team's final scoring member finished nearest to first place.
  • Official results will be announced upon verification.
  • Champion teams and scoring team members will receive awards.
B.A.A. Moment 4

1972 - Women Official Entrants in Marathon

Although Bobbi Gibb was the first woman to complete the Boston Marathon in 1966, it was not until the 1972 Boston Marathon that women could become official entrants due to a change in AAU rules. Pictured (left to right) above are seven of the eight women who participanted in the first official women's field of the Boston Marathon - Nina Kusciak, Katherine Switzer, Elaine Pederson, Ginny Collins, Pat Barrett, Frances Morrison, Sara Mae Berman (not pictured - Valerie Rogosheske).