Presented By:Adidas

Results & Commentary: 1995 Results

Mayor’s Cup Results and Summary 1995

October 22, 1995 - As part of the Reebok USA Cross Country Grand Prix and as in 1991, the Mayor’s Cup served to preview to the US National Championship later that fall. The top teams were awarded the Squires Cup, named for legendary Boston running coach William J. Squires, who conceived the idea for the Mayor’s Cup cross country races in 1990 along with Boston Parks and Recreation and USA Track & Field-New England.

In the men’s team competition, the NAIA’s Life College, of Georgia, won thus beginning a long run of annual attendance – and dominance – at the meet. The now defunct Boston Running Club was the victor among the women’s teams. In the individual race, Seamus McElligott, representing ASICS Fleet Feet, finished first, and in the process he established a new course record with a time of 23:09 (the previous record was 23:51). Brad Barquist, of Mizuno, followed three seconds later to secure second place in 23:12, while former Mayor’s Cup champion Abidi Bouazza was forced to settle for third (23:20).

Three-time world cross country champion Lynn Jennings, of Nike International, defended her title in 16:20 on a new course used for the Mayor’s Cup. Joan Nesbit took second in 16:29. Carmen Ayala-Troncoso, the 1993 champion, followed 19 seconds behind in 16:48 to finish third.

The meet was again sponsored by Reebok. There were 190 male and 96 female finishers.

B.A.A. Moment 1

1920 - Ashland Start

The Boston Marathon began in Ashland, Massachusetts from 1897 through 1923 then moved to Hopkinton for the 1924 race. The course was lengthened to 26 miles, 385 yards to conform to the Olympic standard, and the starting line was moved west from Ashland to Hopkinton. Since then, the race has started in Hopkinton every year.