Presented By:Adidas

Results & Commentary: 2000 Results

Mayor’s Cup Results and Summary 2000

October 22, 2000 - Boasting an impressive regional field of runners, this year’s meet served to preview the USA Fall National Championship.

Canadian Sarah Dupre, formerly of Providence College and representing the B.A.A.; Kristin Beaney, of Reebok Boston; and Diana Bowser, of the B.A.A., set the early pace in the women’s race. Dupre led the way, crossing the finish line first in 16:55. Beaney followed five seconds (17:00) later to take second, and third place finisher Bowser finished five seconds further back in 17:05.

In the men’s race, defending champion Sammy Nyamongo dropped out mid-way through the race, leaving Life University teammate Francis Kirwa and Westchester Track Club’s Paul Mwangi to battle for the lead. Kirwa gained a two-second lead coming over Bear Cage Hill for the final time and was able to hold on until the finish, crossing the line in 23:26. Mwangi followed two-seconds later (23:28) while Alexis Sharangabo, of North Carolina’s Brevard College, finished third in 23:54.

Team scoring changed this year from cumulative time to the traditional cross country scoring method of point total of the team’s top five runners. In the men’s contest, Reebok Boston won, finishing with 97 points, and Boston Athletic Association was runner-up with 106 points. On the women’s side, host Boston Athletic Association won the team trophy with 30 points, and Greater Lowell Road Runners finished second with 86 points. There were 239 male, 105 female, and 222 youth finishers.

See Full Results - click here

B.A.A. Moment 3

1966 - Bobbi Gibb

Although not an official entrant, Roberta “Bobbi” Gibb became the first woman to run the Boston Marathon. Joining the starting field shortly after the gun had been fired, Gibb finished the race in 3:21:40 to place 126th overall. Gibb again claimed the “unofficial” title in 1967 and 1968.