Presented By:Adidas

Results & Commentary: 2002 Results

Mayor’s Cup Results and Summary 2002

October 27, 2002 - The 13th annual Mayor’s Cup lived up to its billing as a premier competition for the City of Boston and one of the most competitive cross country events in the eastern United States with representation by many top level clubs and a record turnout at this year’s event. The addition of the Franklin Park 5k to the event schedule also gave local runners a unique cross country opportunity. Proceeds from the event were directed to the restoration, beautification and maintenance of Bear Cage Hill: the cross country course’s signature location. For the sixth year, the B.A.A. and adidas sponsored the meet for the City of Boston’s Parks and Recreation Department.

In the women’s 5-kilometer race Kristin Chisum, a consistent top finisher at previous Mayor’s Cup races, broke through this year to capture the championship title in 16:40. Chisum, 30, finished second at the 2000 Mayor’s Cup, third in 1997, second in 1996, sixth in 1995 and in ninth place at the 1994 race. Running just off course record pace, Chisum, a Princeton University graduate, ran closely with New Balance teammate Blake Russell (fourth place in 1997) early in the race, with Russell taking a slight lead as the pair passed Mile One in 5:03. Russell, fourth in her only previous Mayor’s Cup effort (1997), and Chisum exchanged the lead until approximately Mile Two, at which point Chisum made her move to the front and maintained the top spot through the breaktape, 12 seconds ahead of Russell.

In the men’s 8-kilometer championship race, Keith Kelly, 25, took an early lead and continued to widen the margin between himself and last year’s champion, Sandu Rebenciuc of the U.S. Army. 2000 NCAA Cross Country champion, Kelly, of Ireland and formerly of Providence College, extended his lead significantly over the final 3 kilometers of the race, finishing in 23:48. Kelly led by 12 seconds at the 5k mark and broke the tape 30 seconds ahead of Rebenciuc. Paul Reilly (24:23) and Mark Coogan (24:27) finished third and fourth.

On this sunny, fall day, strong running by 2000 Mayor’s Cup winner Sarah Dupre and Amy Lyman helped the Boston Athletic Association take the women’s team title. Dupre (17:01) finished third in the 5k, while Lyman (17:20) took fourth.

Bryn Mawr (Pa.) Running Club won the men’s team competition and the B.A.A. was runner-up.


  • 198 finishers in the Men's Championship 8K.
  • 88 finishers in the Women's Championship 5K.
  • 150 finishers in the Franklin Park 5K (men and women).
  • 314 youth finishers.

See Full Results - click here

B.A.A. Moment 1

1920 - Ashland Start

The Boston Marathon began in Ashland, Massachusetts from 1897 through 1923 then moved to Hopkinton for the 1924 race. The course was lengthened to 26 miles, 385 yards to conform to the Olympic standard, and the starting line was moved west from Ashland to Hopkinton. Since then, the race has started in Hopkinton every year.