2021 Boston Marathon

John Hancock Professional Athlete Team

John Hancock Professional Athlete Team


The Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.) has announced that 13 Boston Marathon champions with a combined 30 first-place Boston finishes will headline the John Hancock Professional Athlete Team for the 125th Boston Marathon. The accomplished group includes World Athletics Marathon champions, Paralympic medalists, Abbott World Marathon Majors winners, and Olympians.

The Boston Marathon will make history as the first Abbott World Marathon Major event to offer equal $50,000 course record bonuses across open and wheelchair divisions, and the first event to provide a designated prize purse for athletes with upper limb, lower limb, and visual impairments. For the 36th year, the prize money awards will be provided by principal sponsor John Hancock.

The full international field, including the Para Athletics Divisions field, will be announced the week of August 9-16.


Wednesday, July 14, 2021

13 Boston Marathon Champions To Race Historic Fall 125th Boston Marathon
The 125th Boston Marathon will make history as the first Abbott World Marathon Major event to offer equal $50,000 course record bonuses across open and wheelchair divisions

Monday, April 19, 2021

Des Linden to Race 125th Boston Marathon

2018 Champion Announced as First Member of the John Hancock Professional Athlete Team

Meet the 2021 Boston Marathon Professional Team


Edna Kiplagat

A two-time world championships gold medalist from Kenya, Edna Kiplagat won Boston in 2017.

Atsede Baysa

Atsede Baysa joined a strong Ethiopian tradition in Boston by winning the 2016 race in 2:29:19.

Desiree Linden

Prevailing through driving rain and cold, Desiree Linden broke the tape at Boston in 2018. She’s a five-time top 5 Boston Marathon finisher.

Caroline Rotich

Caroline Rotich is the only returning champion to have won the B.A.A. Half Marathon (2010) and Boston Marathon (’15).

Manuela Schär

The fastest women’s wheelchair athlete in history, Manuela Schär clocked a course record in 2017 then won Boston again in 2019.

Tatyana McFadden

Among the most decorated athletes in history, Tatyana McFadden has five Boston wins and 17 Paralympic medals.


Lemi Berhanu

After breaking the tape in 2:12:45, Lemi Berhanu celebrated by skipping on Boylston Street after winning in 2016.

Geoffrey Kirui

A world championships gold medalist, Kirui claimed the 2017 Boston title in 2:09:37.

Yuki Kawauchi

The 2018 Boston Marathon is among a long list of more than 30 international marathons which Yuki Kawauchi has won.

Marcel Hug

Known as the Swiss Silver Bullet, Marcel Hug is known for his speed in Boston. A 4-time champ, his course record is 1:18:04.

Ernst van Dyk

With 10 titles, Ernst van Dyk has won more Boston Marathons than any athlete in history. His first title came in 2001.

Josh Cassidy

A former course record holder, Josh Cassidy timed 1:18:25 to win the 2012 Boston Marathon.

Daniel Romanchuk

Daniel Romanchuk won the 2019 Boston Marathon at just 20 years old. He's on Team USA for the Paralympic Marathon.