As principal sponsor, John Hancock provided the first-ever prize money in 1986 and continues that tradition. The top finishers have received more than $20 million in prize money and course-record bonuses over the past 33 years.
  • Prize money at the Boston Marathon is equally distributed amongst men and women in the Open, Masters, and Push Rim Wheelchair Division. 
  • See below for prize money breakdown:
Place Open Division Push Rim Wheelchair Division Masters Division
1st $150,000 $25,000 $10,000
2nd $75,000 $15,000 $5,000
3rd $40,000 $7,500 $2,500
4th $25,000 $4,500 $1,500
5th $15,000 $2,500 $1,000
6th $12,000 $2,000  
7th $9,000 $1,500  
8th $7,400 $1,250  
9th $5,700 $1,000  
10th $4,200 $750  
11th $2,600    
12th $2,100    
13th $1,800    
14th $1,700    
15th $1,500    
TOTAL $706,000 $122,000* $40,000
GRAND TOTAL $868,000    

*Additionally, the men’s and women’s winner of the T51/T52 class will each receive $1,500. 

  • The Boston Marathon includes a separate start for top female competitors. 
  • Performances from the Elite Women's Start (EWS) will be scored separately from women starting in the open field.
  • Open and masters division women who consider themselves eligible for prize money in the Boston Marathon must declare themselves as a contestant for the EWS start. 
  • They may email for further details on format, eligibility, regulations, and instructions. 
  • Race officials can assist in determining which start - EWS or 10:00 a.m. - is most appropriate. 
  • Prize money will be awarded to contestants in the EWS only. 
  • Women who choose not to start in the EWS waive the right to compete for prize money.
  • Bonus prize money is equally distributed amongst men and women.
World Best $50,000
Course Record $25,000
Masters World Best $10,000
Masters Course Record $7,500
Push Rim Wheelchair World Best $10,000
Push Rim Wheelchair Course Record $7,500
  • Age group awards will be given to the top 3 in each division. 
  • Awards are courtesy of Long’s Jewelers.