Since 2002, the B.A.A. and the City of Boston have presented the Patriots’ Award at a ceremony in the days leading up to the Boston Marathon. Awarded to a New England-based individual, group, or organization that is patriotic, philanthropic, and inspirational, and fosters goodwill and sportsmanship, the Patriots’ Award further unifies the Boston Marathon with Patriots’ Day, the holiday on which the race has been held since 1897.

The recipients of the award have been:

  • Robert and Myra Kraft and the New England Patriots (2002)
  • Red Auerbach and the Red Auerbach Youth Foundation (2003)
  • Ron Burton and the Ron Burton Training Village (2004)
  • Boston Red Sox Foundation (2005)
  • Rick and Dick Hoyt (2006)
  • Joan Benoit Samuelson (2007)
  • Mike Andrews and the Jimmy Fund (2008)
  • Boston bartenders and philanthropists Eddie Doyle and Tommy Leonard (2009)
  • New England Patriot and three-time Super Bowl champion Tedy Bruschi (2010)
  • Carol Fulp, Senior Vice President of Brand Communications and Corporate Social Responsibility for John Hancock Financial Services (2011)
  • Boston Red Sox pitcher and active community philanthropist Tim Wakefield (2012)
  • Boston Marathon Shadow Run Founder, Lt. Colonel Rodney Freeman (2013)
  • One Fund Boston, Inc. (2014)
  • Thomas M. Menino Fund for Boston (2015)
  • Adrianne Haslet (2016)
  • Meb Keflezighi (2017)
  • David Fortier (2018)
  • Linda Driscoll, Dream Big! (2019)